About Us


The Parish of Blessed James Bell is part of the Warrington Pastoral Area in the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Liverpool.

The Parish was established on 1 May 2018 from the three former parishes of St Benedict’s (founded in 1902), St Mary’s (founded in 1877) and St Oswald’s (founded in 1929), Warrington.

The Parish serves the Catholic community in the town centre and to the East of Warrington (Orford and Padgate).

The Parish is served by the following clergy:

Parish Priest               Fr Dave Heywood

Deacons                       Revv Michael Birchall, David Boyle, Tony Kerrigan and Michael Oxley

Parish Office
The Parish Office is based at St Benedict’s and is open Monday to Friday, 9.00 am – 5.00 pm.

Administrator           Mrs Celia Baxter

Priestly Fraternity of St Peter
The Priestly Fraternity of St Peter (FSSP), who celebrate the Eucharist and the other sacraments according to the liturgical books in force in 1962, serve St Mary’s Shrine in the town centre.

Rector                           Fr Armand de Malleray, FSSP

Assistant                     Fr Ian Verrier, FSSP

Assistant                     Fr Konrad Loewenstein, FSSP

Secretary                    Mrs Jane Wright

Polish Community
The Polish community in Warrington celebrate Mass at 3.30 pm every Sunday at St Oswald’s in their native language.  Additional special services are held at St Oswald’s over the Easter and Christmas period.

Slovak/Czeck Community
The Slovak/Czeck community in Warrington celebrate Mass at 4.00 pm every Saturday at St Benedict’s in their native language.